Favorite Films

We talk about these things, sometimes: the movies we love.

I’m sitting on my couch, and just over the screen of the laptop is my little collection of DVDs, and I think it’s worth mentioning the couple films I watch regularly, over and over again, whenever such a mood strikes.

In no particular order:

#) Howl’s Moving Castle – the perfect blend of all that is good about Anime fantasy with all that is good about Western fantasy. Jesus but this film is just beautiful to behold. I often watch it dubbed into French, because I think the sound of French – a language I don’t speak – enhances the romantic gorgeousness of the film, the dresses and set pieces and magic spells.

I’ve got a few more films I watch a lot, though not quite as much as these few. The Dark Crystal, Pan’s Labyrinth, Mirrormask, Princess Mononoke, Cowboy Bebop, Crouching Tiger Hidden Dragon, etc., etc.

My favorite movies of this last year were, in no particular order, “Julie & Julia”, “Up!”, and “The Fantastic Mr Fox”.

One thought on “Favorite Films

Leave a Reply

